Still single…

20 months and counting….

Well actually, I’m not really keeping track as it’s not the most important thing to me right now. I’m single…so what?! I was with my ex husband for 18 years, gave that everything I had, so in actual fact, it’s nice to just concentrate on me for a change. 

Him leaving me however, raised a lot of issues I have with myself, to the surface. 

Being on Twitter, @JustMeHere1977, I have had my fair share of flirtations, because lets be honest, lots of people use it as a platform to meet someone. Been led up the garden path more than once…heart broken and left to feel like a gullible idiot, once. Had my eyes opened to lots of questionable behaviour, countless times. 

I don’t care what people say, so many attached people use it to boost their ego’s, have a bit of fun without the other half knowing, send and receive, in some cases, rather tasteless photos of their genitals…the list is endless. And because this happens, so many people end up confused and hurt. 

As I said earlier, this has happened to me and now I have a wall permanently around me, I question everything, am suspicious of everyone and in turn this dampened my love for Twitter. 

I took a wee (already speaking Scottish!) Break, reevaluated my view of Twitter, and came back with a different attitude towards it. 

Don’t get me wrong I follow a couple of men that ‘I so would’ but just haven’t got the confidence to do anything about it. 

Actually that last bit is a lie…I did ask one guy out for a no strings coffee and he turned me down. He said something along the lines of ‘it’s just Twitter’ so that kinda put me off asking anyone again!

That felt like shit but I have learnt the hard way that you’ve got to take the knocks and come back fighting. 

6 thoughts on “Still single…

  1. I sincerely hope you meet someone that deserves you, rather than the total clowns you’ve encountered post-split. Not all blokes are idiots though, you’ll be fine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

